Call for Medical Imaging Awards

The Royal Photographic Society has put out a call for nominations for its Combined Royal Colleges Medal which honours outstanding contributions to the advancement of medical photography or the wider field of medical imaging.The recipient will be announced at a special event to be held in London in September 2013.

The Combined Royal Colleges Medal was established by The Society, in collaboration with the Royal College of Physicians of London, the Royal College of Surgeons of England and the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists in 1957. It is awarded for an outstanding contribution to the advancement of medical photography or the wider field of medical imaging. The recipient of the award is also invited by The Society and Colleges to give a lecturerelating to the work for which the award has been given. The venue for the lecture is one of the three Royal Colleges in London.

Recent recipients include Micrima and The University of Bristol Microwave Imaging Group, Spike Walker FRPS and Catherine Draycott, Head of Wellcome Images.

All information on the award can be found at this link may be had on request from Awards Manager, Jo Macdonald, by emailing: A nomination form can be found here Nominations are required by 22 February, 2013.

The Society's Director General Dr Michael Pritchard noted: "Any person, of any nationalityis entitled to be nominated for the Combined Royal Colleges Medal. The medal is unique in honouring men and women internationally who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement ofmedical photography or the wider field of medical imaging and we would encourage nominations"

The Society has made Awards to photographers and those in photography since 1878 when its Progress medal was first awarded. There are now fifteen categories. In addition The Society also awards Honorary Fellowships of The Society – an honour it first bestowed in 1895. Recent Award winners have included photographers Joel Meyerowitz, Steve Sasson, Terry O'Neill, Albert Watson, Annie Leibovitz and Martin Parr, and individuals Philippe Garner, Sir David Attenborough and Sir Tim Berners-Lee, alongside scientists and museum and gallery curators.

Back to all news

Log in using your username or email address. You can also use your College Personal ID (PID) if you have one.

Forgotten password?

Create a login

New users must create a login. You do not need to be a member of the College in order to create a login.



Having difficulty registering or logging in? Forgotten your username or password?

Get Help