

LADY MARGARET MACLELLAN AWARD 2018

BACKGROUND

In April 1985 a sum of money was made available by Sir Robin MacLellan to provide a monetary prize (with a suitably inscribed momento) to be awarded biennially for outstanding contributions to medical science in Scotland. The Medical Schools and Royal Colleges in Scotland would be invited to submit nominations. Members of Tenovus Scotland's National Committee are ineligible.

ΤΟΡΙϹ

We have pleasure in advising that the 17th Lady Margaret MacLellan Award will be made to the individual, or group of individuals, who are actively engaged in medical research in Scotland and have contributed most in the field of **'Precision medicine'** research within Scotland in recent years.

AWARD

The sum of **£3000** and a suitable memento will be awarded.

CLOSING DATE

We are pleased to invite nominations for submission by Friday 7 December 2018.

SUBMISSIONS

Submissions should be marked 'LADY MARGARET MACLELLAN AWARD 2018' and an electronic copy sent to <u>general.secy@tenovus-scotland.org.uk</u>. A hard copy should also be sent to TENOVUS SCOTLAND, At Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow, 232-242 St Vincent Street, Glasgow G2 5RJ.

A citation of not more than 500 words would be appropriate and we would be grateful if you could also provide a brief Curriculum Vitae for each nominee, a paragraph stating the nature and significance of the scientific contribution and a list of relevant publications.

PAST RECIPIENTS

1986 Professor David Brock Edinburgh: Inherited disorders and their antenatal diagnosis 1988 Professor William Jarret Glasgow: Virology, the pioneering work carried out in identifying an Aids-like virus in felines 1990 Professor Warlow Edinburgh: Prevention, diagnosis and management of stroke 1992 Professor R E Olver & Dr R Hume Dundee: Premature babies 1994 Professor Anthony Lever Glasgow: High blood pressure 1996 Dr Martin L Hooper & Dr Alan R Clarke Edinburgh: Cancer research 1998 Professor David Porteous Edinburgh: The genetic background and the use of somatic gene therapy in cystic fibrosis 2000 Professor Colin Watts Dundee: The immune system 2002 Dr Donald M Salter Edinburgh: Musculoskeletal disease 2004 Professor Neil Thomson Glasgow : Causes of asthma and its management 2006 Professors Deary, Whalley and Dr. Starr Edinburgh & Aberdeen: Cognitive ageing 2008 Professor Stuart Ralston Edinburgh: Bone metabolism 2010 Professor Bob Steele Dundee: Bowel cancer screening 2012 Professor Peter Sharp Aberdeen: Imaging 2014 Professor Hilary Critchley Edinburgh: Women's Health 2016 Professor Iain McInnes Glasgow: Immunology/Inflammation